A Late Mother’s Day Post

If your mother is like mine, she is the type of person who cares much more about homemade things, so every year I try to make something for Mother’s Day/her birthday/Christmas and every year I hit a brick wall and end up just buying something small; however, this year I was determined to make something, and I made these: Image

These monogram wine glasses cost about $2 to make, and everyone I made one for absolutely loved. 

So how did I make these? Simple: (read the whole post before you make them so you can see if you find an easier way)

1. I went to the dollar store, bought the glasses (that are actually rather heavy and 20 ounces) 

2. I printed out some Lilly Pullitzer patterns from Google Images

3. I printed out monograms for everyone I was making them for (Google “monogram maker”)

4. I traced the monograms on to the patterns using my glass window/glass table and a lamp

5. Cut the monograms out

6. Placed the actual monogram in the glass to reference for placement and that sort of thing

6. Used a paint brush to “paint” mod podge over the monograms

7. Dry and put the decorative tissue paper in for packing/prettiness. 

Now, this may not be the easiest way to do it. I’m sure one of you brilliant people will figure out an easier way to do all this, but this was just my first run with these. 

Here are some helpful tips about these:

  • Wash the glasses BEFORE you do all of this
  • Lay down some news paper so you don’t make a mess
  • Use “Childrens Mod Podge” so it washes out in case of said mess
  • Comment below on how you made them, and send me a picture!

Haha okay, maybe the last one was a bit of shameless self-promotion, but oh well. Follow me on Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, etc!

One thought on “A Late Mother’s Day Post

Leave a Reply

